Republicans should support President Trump’s
2018 Budget Proposal


The Conservative Movement wholeheartedly supports President Trump’s 2018 budget proposal.


April 25, 2017
Washington, DC

Any budget is a series of compromises, between what is ideal and what is achievable. Conservatives know that Rome wasn’t built — or burned — in a day. Nevertheless, the Conservative Movement rightly expected the Trump administration to start any budget negotiations closer to the ideal than any administration has been able to for decades.

And that is what it has done. The proposed budget is a major step in the right direction, even though it does not save a lot of money compared to the total budget. But even the savings it does achieve, one percent, just 1%, of the discretionary budget, is a major achievement. Most budgets increase spending. This one shrinks it.

Critics will cry foul: they will say the cuts are draconian. But it simply cannot be that the country cannot survive a 1 percent reduction in the discretionary budget. Families across America do that, and a lot more besides, every year. This budget will demonstrate that it is possible to cut spending without having the oceans begin to rise or the planet begin to suffer.

And even though the budget is still high, how the money is saved is significant. It is saved by eliminating programs that have no constitutional justification, thereby returning the government of the country to its proper constitutional basis. That in itself is a major achievement, and one that conservatives can build on in the future.

This budget eliminates all $148 million for the National Endowment for the Arts, all $148 million for the National Endowment for the Humanities, the $230 million Institute of Museum and Library Services, and the $445 million for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, including PBS and NPR. $445 million may not seem like a lot of money to some congressmen, but many Americans go their entire lives without seeing that kind of money.

And in addition, the budget completely eliminates the following agencies:

African Development Foundation
Appalachian Regional Commission
Chemical Safety Board
Corporation for National and Community Service
Delta Regional Authority
Denali Commission
Inter-American Foundation
U.S. Trade and Development Agency
Legal Services Corporation
Neighborhood Reinvestment Corporation
Northern Border Regional Commission
Overseas Private Investment Corporation
U.S. Institute of Peace
U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness
Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

The conservative joke going around Washington these days is, “What do you call the elimination of 19 federal agencies?” You guessed it: “A beginning.”

This is a budget conservatives are happy to support enthusiastically.


The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan

The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.

Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation

Evelio Silvera
for the American Future

Shawn A. Mitchell

National Federation of
Republican Assemblies

Alfred S. Regnery
Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

Troy Newman
President, Operation Rescue
Center for Medical Progress

Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism

Willes K. Lee

Ed Corrigan
Former Executive Director
Senate Steering Committee

Michael A. Needham
Chief Executive Officer 
Heritage Action for America

Neil Patel
Co-Founder and Publisher
The Daily Caller

Alan P. Dye
Webster, Chamberlain & Bean

Adam Brandon
Freedom Works

Christopher Malagisi
Young Conservatives Coalition

The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth

Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum

Lisa Calvert
Christian Speaker & Teacher
Rabon-Calvert Interests

The Honorable Terrence Scanlon
Retired President and Chairman
Capital Research Center

Kenneth F. Boehm
National Legal & Policy Center

Susan A. Carleson
American Civil Rights Union

Susan Walton Gore
Wyoming Liberty Group

Pillar of Law Institute

Lisa B. Nelson
Chief Executive Officer 
The Jeffersonian Project

Sandy Rios
Director of Governmental Affairs
American Family Association

James C. Dobson Ph.D.
Founder & President
Family Talk

Dan Weber
Association of Mature American Citizens

Taylor Budowich
Executive Director
Tea Party Express

Joseph R. Gregory
President and CEO
Gregory Mgt. Co.

Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch

Bob Carlstrom
The Carlstrom Group, LLC

Bob Adams
Revive America PAC

Tim LeFever
Capitol Resource Institute

Richard G. Lee
There’s Hope America, Atlanta, GA

Richard Scurry
The Bible Literacy Project

Lee A. Beaman
Chief Executive Officer
Beaman Automotive

Lew Uhler
National Tax Limitation Committee

Richard P. Bott, II
Chairman / CEO
Bott Radio Network

Marcia G. Taylor
Bennett Int. Group, Inc.

The Honorable Martin W. Garrick
Admiral Property Companh

Raymond Thompson
Thompson Precision

Richard A. Viguerie
Conservative HQ

Peter J. Thomas
Americans for Constitutional Liberty

David N. Bossie
Citizens United

Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Conservative Attorney

Lou Cordia
Cordia and Associates

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Former White House Advisor,
President Ronald Reagan

The Honorable Mike Spence
Founding President
Conservative Republicans of California

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan

Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.

Nicholas Stehle
Campaign for the
American Future

Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation

Janice Shaw Crouse, Ph.D
Board Chair, Institure on Religion and 

Democracy and Board Executive Committee,
World Congress of Families

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.

The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director
President Reagan

Dan Greenberg

Advance Arkansas Institute

Ginni Thomas
Liberty Consulting

Jenny Beth Martin
Co-Founder and CEO
Tea Party Patriots

Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

James P. Backlin
Vice President of Legislative Affairs

Christian Coalition of America

C. Preston Noell III

Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Jerry Melvin

Florida Republican Assembly

James L. Martin

60 Plus Association

Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation

Charlie Cato
Leading The Way PAC

Michael J. Bowen
Coalition for a Strong America

Dee Hodges
Maryland Taxpayers Association

Thomas A. Schatz
Citizens Against Government Waste

Eunie Smith
Eagle Forum

The Honorable Michael R. Long
State Chairman
New York State
Conservative Party

William L. Walton
Vice President
Council for National Policy

Joseph A. Morris
Morris & De La Rosa

Gary L. Bauer
American Values

Rick Scarborough
Vision America Action

Patrick Foose
Director of Communications
Life Issues Institute

Heather R. Higgins
President and CEO
Independent Women’s Voice

Richard Manning
Americans for Limited Government

Charlie Gerow
Vice Chairman 
American Conservative Union

L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President 
Media Research Center

The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli II
Senate Conservatives Fund

Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith

Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Washington Bureau Chief

The Honorable Belden Bell
Cochair Legacy Society
Heritage Foundation

Kevin D. Freeman
NSIC Institute

Richard P. Bott, Sr.
Bott Radio Network

Grover Glenn Norquist
Americans for Tax Reform

Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness

Gayle Trotter
American Womens Alliance

William W. Pascoe, III
Managing Partner
Antietam Communications

Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston

Sabrina Schaeffer
Executive Director
Independent Women’s Forum

Michael K. Taylor
Bennett Int. Group, Inc.

Richard H. Wright

(All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only)